Troop 11's
Home Page
Street Fair Booth
Our Eagle Scouts
2015 Fruit Sales
Scout Ranks
Religious Awards
Leadership Awards
Scout Sites

Boy Scout Troop 11
(Bismarck, North Dakota)
ScoutLander Contact Our Troop Member Login

Scout Badge

The first rank of Boy Scouting can be earned as soon as a
boy joins a troop, especially if he has earned his Arrow of
Light as a Webelos scout. This first rank is earned by applying
and memorizing some important scouting basics.

Tenderfoot Badge

Tenderfoot is the first rank earned as aBoy Scout. The
requirements of becoming a Tenderfoot provide basic skills
to begin preparing the scout for higher adventure outings.
Earning badges and receiving recognitioncan can be very
satisfyingto boys. However, keep in mind that the badge is
only a representation of a valuable set of skills that a scout
has learned and demonstrated. The skills, wisdom and
experience gained through the activities of the scouting
program are of much more value than a small badge.

Second Class Badge

Second Class Scouts work on building their outdoor survival
and camping skills. Compass work, nature observation,
camp tools and swimming are areas where new skills are
mastered and demonstrated. A second class scout, having
completed all requirements, should be able to lead a
hike, care for his own equipment, set up a campsite and
perform basic first aid.

First Class Badge

When the First Class rank is attained, a scout has learned all
the basic camping and outdoors skills of a scout. He can
fend for himself in the wild, lead others on a hike or
campout, set up a camp site, plan and properly prepare
meals and provide first aid for most situations he may
encounter. A First Class Scout is prepared.

Star Badge

Up through First Class rank, a scout was busy learning skills
and becoming a self-sufficient scout. He now moves from
being a learner to being a leader. The Star rank is attained
with participation, leadership, service and self-directed
advancement through merit badges.

Life Badge

Continuing to develop leadership skills, the Life Scout rank is
earned by fulfilling additional leadership positions, service
hours and merit badges. A Life Scout is expected to be a
role model and leader in the troop, providing guidance to
new scouts and helping the troop however he can. Being a
good leader can only be learned by doing and troop
leadership positions allow the scout to make decisions, lead
discussions and encourage others.

Eagle Badge

Attaining the Eagle rank is often the end goal of a scout and
his parents. It looks good on a resume and shows
commitment to a program over an extended span of time.
But, just like each rank advancement before it, the Eagle
rank is a major advancement milestone, but not the
culmination of scouting.

After reaching Eagle, a scout can continue to earn merit
badges and be awarded with an Eagle Palm for each 5
additional merit badges.