Troop 6841's
Home Page
Joining Girl Scout
To Serve God
Girl Scout Basics
Juliette Low story
Girl Scout History
Cookie Fun
Girl Scout Uniform
GS Dictionary
Girl Scouts Resource
Fun Facts

Girl Scout Troop 6841
(Virden, Illinois)
ScoutLander Contact Our Troop Member Login

Girl Scouts and Faith

My Promise, My Faith Pin

Everything in Girl Scouting is based on the Girl Scout Promise and Law. The Girl Scout Law includes many of the principles and values common to most faiths. Thus, while a secular organization, Girl Scouts has, since the movement began, encouraged girls to take spiritual journeys via their faiths' religious recognitions.


Girls of all grade levels can now earn the My Promise, My Faith pin developed by Girl Scouts of the USA. This pin, which girls can earn once a year, complements existing religious recognitions and allows all girls to further strengthen the connection between their faith and Girl Scouts. A girl earns the My Promise, My Faith pin by carefully examining the Girl Scout Law and directly tying it to tenets of her faith.

To locate your local Girl Scout council, visit the GSUSA Council Finder.

Religious Recognitions

Religious recognitions are created by national religious organizations/committees to encourage the spiritual growth of their youth members and reinforce many of the values integral to Girl Scouting. While My Promise, My Faith helps girls connect Girl Scouting with their faith, the religious recognitions programs help girls grow stronger in and learn more specifically about their faith.

Each religious organization/committee develops and administers its own program. The To Serve God religious recognitions brochure shows the religious recognitions that have been created by various faith groups. You can find this brochure, a video that explains the religious recognitions programs, and other resources for collaborating with the faith community at P.R.A.Y. Publishing:

The P.R.A.Y Program

All scouts have the opportunity to go through the PRAY (Programs of Religious Activities with Youth) program. This is completely optional but strongly encourage. There are several different Faith-Based awards available based on your religious backgrounds. The program is broken down based on your scouts age (1st – 3rd grades; 4th & 5th grades; 6th – 8th grades and 9th – 12th grade).

I have attached the webpage that is associated with this program. You are welcome to work with your own religious leaders to help you with your specific faith based program or if you are not specifically affiliated with a particular religious group, we can work with one of our local churches to find assist with this program.

Yours in scouting
Girl Scout Troop 6841